Novo Amor / Releases Debut Album 'Birthplace', UK Headline Tour Arrives In London Next Week

NovoAmor 4 CreditDanielAlexanderHarris2

‘Birthplace’, the stunning debut album from Novo Amor is out today via AllPoints. Written and recorded in the home studio of Ali Lacey (the Welsh multi-instrumentalist/singer/producer behind the moniker of Novo Amor),‘Birthplace’ is a collection of beautiful, melancholic songs which effortlessly transport the listener to another realm.  

The ambitious and visually stunning video for the album’s title track won acclaim from charities (including Greenpeace & Surfers Against Sewage) and viewers around the world for highlighting the monolithic problem of plastic in our oceans and recently picked up the title of 'Video of the Year' at the prestigious AIM Awards. As a result of the issues raised in this video, a conscious effort has been made on all sides to reduce the amount of plastic involved with bringing ‘Birthplace’ into the world. Vinyl copies of ‘Birthplace’ have been created from recycled vinyl pellets off cut from other records meaning that each record is its very own unique colour, depending on the colour of the pellets used within each disc. CD copies are packaged in soft cardboard packaging rather than hard plastic packaging and all cardboard used in the vinyl and CD packaging is FSC certified. All paper used is also recycled, coming from offset paper stock.  

Marking the album’s release, Novo Amor has kicked off a lengthy headline tour which will take him around the UK, mainland Europe, and over to the US as well, with dates running well into December. The UK leg of the tour will culminate in 2 nights at London’s Union Chapel next week. Full international listings below.  

Continuing the drive to sustainability, Novo Amor has been working with two UK charities - Julie's Bicycle and Energy Revolution - to limit the environmental impact of these tour dates by minimising waste at shows and balance fuel consumption & Co2 emissions. A self-applied 'pollution tax' will be used to generate clean, renewable energy through projects such as wind power generation and reforestation in India.  

NOVO AMOR INTERNATIONAL TOUR DATES:
Fri 19 Oct - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds UK
Sat 20 Oct - The Haunt, Brighton, UK
Mon 22 Oct - Union Chapel, London, UK  
Tue 23 Oct - Union Chapel, London, UK
Wed 24 Oct - La Maroquinerie, Paris, FR
Thu 25 Oct - Kulturhaus Karlstorbahnhof, Heidelberg, DE
Sat 27 Oct - Vega, Copenhagen, DK
Sun 28 Oct - Kagelbanan, Stockholm, SE
Tue 30 Oct - Botanique Orangerie, Brussels, Belgium BE
Wed 31 Oct - Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam, NL
Thu 1 Nov - Gruenspan, Hamburg DE
Fri 2 Nov - Funkhaus Berlin Nalepastrasse, Berlin DE
Mon 12 Nov - Atlanta GA, US
Wed 14 Nov - Union Stage, Washington DC, US
Thu 15 Nov - Bowery Ballroom, New York NY, US
Sat 17 Nov - The Sinclair, Cambridge MA, US  
Tue 20 Nov - Theatre Farimount, Montreal, CA  
Wed 21 Nov - Velvet Underground, Toronto, CA
Fri 23 Nov - Lincoln Hall, Chicago IL, US
Sat 24 Nov - Cedar Cultural Center, Minneapolis MN, US
Tue 27 Nov - Bluebird Theater, Denver CO, US
Wed Nov 28 - The Commonwealth Room, Salt Lake City UT, US
Fri 30 Nov - St. James Hall, Vancouver, CA
Sat 1 Dec – Columbia City Theater, Seattle WA US
Sun 2 Dec - Doug Fir Lounge, Portland OR, US
Tue 4 Dec - Swedish American Hall, San Francisco CA, US
Thu 6 Dec - Lodge Room, Los Angeles CA, US  

Tickets for all shows that aren’t yet sold out are on sale now from Novo Amor’s official website here.

‘BIRTHPLACE’ TRACKLISTING:
Emigrate
Birthplace
Utican
Seneca
Anniversary
13494
State Lines
Sleepless
Repeat Until Death
Oh, Round Lake  

Order ‘Birthplace’ here.   

Watch the official video for ‘Birthplace’ here and watch the official video for ‘Utican’ here.